FAQ icon

Need Answers?

Directory Icon

Email, Phone, and Addresses

Graduation cap icon

Explore Degrees

Four SOE students honored as CEW+ scholars

September 12, 2019

The Center for the Education of Women+ (CEW+) has announced the winners of its 2019–20 scholarships. CEW+ marketing and communications specialist Sarah Keovongsak said that over $485,000 was awarded to scholars; this was their largest award amount to date. Winners were recognized, through a highly competitive process, as leaders with great potential to make a significant impact in their field. Four recipients were SOE students: Kerrigan Fitzpatrick, Sally Al-Banna, Tasneem Pota, and Katie Revelle.


AAUW: Mary Elizabeth Bittman Memorial:
Kerrigan Fitzpatrick, AB student in Psychology with a minor in Education for Empowerment in the College of Literature Science and the Arts at U-M Ann Arbor

Beth Halloran Scholar:
Sally Al-Banna, MA student in Educational Studies specializing in Teaching and Learning in the School of Education at U-M Ann Arbor

Margaret Dow Towsley Scholars:
Tasneem Pota, MA student in Educational Studies with a concentration in Teaching and Learning in the School of Education at U-M Ann Arbor

Katie Revelle, PhD student in Education with a concentration in Literacy, Language, and Culture in the School of Education at U-M Ann Arbor

Among the winners of the CEW+ Scholarship Program are student parents, primary caregivers, students who are returning to the classroom after a prolonged interruption, students who are underrepresented in STEM fields, first-generation and international students, and students who have overcome great obstacles in order to achieve their dream of earning a degree in higher education.

The CEW+ Scholarship Program presents awards on an annual basis. This year’s CEW+ Scholars will be honored at an awards ceremony in Ann Arbor on September 22, 2019.