FAQ icon

Need Answers?

Directory Icon

Email, Phone, and Addresses

Graduation cap icon

Explore Degrees

Deborah Loewenberg Ball appointed by President Biden to the National Science Board

January 17, 2023

Ball is among eight new appointees to the National Science Board, which oversees the strategic direction of the National Science Foundation.


In a press release The White House announced that Deborah Loewenberg Ball will be appointed to the National Science Board. Arati Prabhakar, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, said “I am delighted that President Biden has appointed these world-class scientific and engineering leaders to the National Science Board. I am especially proud that the President’s appointments will make this the most diverse National Science Board in history, working to deliver results for every American.” 

Ball is the William H. Payne Collegiate Professor of Education at the University of Michigan School of Education, an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, and a research professor affiliated with the Survey Research Center at the Institute for Social Research. She is also the director of TeachingWorks, a center based at the School of Education that designs resources and supports educators to enact equitable teaching practice that nurtures young people’s learning and actively disrupts patterns of injustice. Her work has focused primarily on using the power of teaching to disrupt patterns of racism, marginalization, and inequity.

Ball has authored more than 200 articles and chapters in various scholarly works. She served as the President of the American Educational Research Association from 2017 to 2018 and as Dean of the University of Michigan School of Education from 2005 to 2016. Ball previously served on the National Science Board from 2013 to 2018. 

The National Science Board establishes the policies of the National Science Foundation (NSF), identifying issues that may be pertinent to the NSF’s future while managing its budget and approving new programs and awards.

Ball will serve a six-year term as a member of the board. 

Featured in this Article

William H. Payne Collegiate Professor of Education and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Marsal Family School of Education; Research Professor, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research