FAQ icon

Need Answers?

Directory Icon

Email, Phone, and Addresses

Graduation cap icon

Explore Degrees

CSHPE alums garner awards at annual Association of Education Finance and Policy Conference

March 30, 2023

Sooji Kim (PhD ’22) and Laura Perna (MPP ’92, PhD ’97) are recognized for their exemplary research.

Sooji Kim 2023 AEFP award
Kim's award plaque

Recent CSHPE graduate Sooji Kim (PhD ’22) received the Jean Flanigan Outstanding Dissertation Award at the 48th annual Association for Education Finance and Policy’s (AEFP) conference. The award is intended to recognize exemplary dissertation research by doctoral students in the area of education finance and policy. Kim was recognized for her dissertation, Improving Work and Equity for Lower-Income Students: Examining the Effects and Underlying Mechanisms of Federal Work-Study. Kim is now  Senior Research Associate at the Belk Center for Community College Leadership and Research at NC State University.

48th annual AEFP conference
Perna and Kim (center) with fellow AEFP award winners

Laura Perna (MPP ’92, PhD ’97) was recognized with the AEFP-CUE Applied Higher Education Finance & Policy Award. This award celebrates scholars who are engaged in exemplary applied research in higher education and in broad dissemination of results and policy implications. The award is designed to highlight applied education finance and/or policy research with substantial implications for public policy and practice in higher education. Perna is Vice Provost for Faculty, Graduate School of Education Centennial Presidential Professor of Education, and Executive Director of the Alliance for Higher Education and Democracy (AHEAD) at the University of Pennsylvania.

The Association for Education Finance and Policy is a dynamic organization for researchers, policymakers, and practitioners tackling the most important education finance and policy issues of the day across the spectrum from early childhood to postsecondary and beyond.