FAQ icon

Need Answers?

Directory Icon

Email, Phone, and Addresses

Graduation cap icon

Explore Degrees

2018 SOE Outspoken event participant walking toward podium

The Marsal Family School of Education dije Awards


About the Awards

The dije awards recognize work to advance diversity, inclusion, justice, and equity within the Marsal Family School of Education, as well as within the broader University of Michigan campus and surrounding communities. These awards serve an important function: to spotlight the advancement of our Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Strategic Plan. They also serve to recognize the individuals whose significant efforts make the advancement of this plan possible.

The dije award is presented to one student, one faculty member, and one staff member each academic year.


These awards recognize individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, Justice, and Equity (dije) in all aspects of their professional work. Such persons advance the mission of the Marsal Family School of Education and serve as an inspiration to those with whom they interact. We will separately consider nominations for students, faculty, and staff. We are looking for individuals who help to foster an inclusive and respectful climate in the Marsal Family School of Education, while working to advance our goals of Diversity, Inclusion, Justice, and Equity.


Each awardee will receive $500 and a framed certificate from the Marsal Family School of Education acknowledging their contributions. Awardees are also announced in the program and presentation at the Spring Commencement Ceremony.


SOE faculty, staff, and students are invited to submit nominations on a rolling basis. The Education Diversity Advisory Committee (EDAC) serves as the selection committee. EDAC is a Marsal Family School of Education committee comprised of faculty members, staff members, and students and advises on policies and practices related to diversity and equity.

Nominations must include the following items:

  • A one- to two-page letter of support

Self-nominations are welcome.

Please note that members of the selection committee are not eligible to receive awards.

Submit a nomination


Questions may be directed to the dije team at [email protected].

Please note that content of nominations may be used for future award promotion.

Award Recipients


Faculty Award
Charles H.F. Davis III
Assistant Professor, Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education

Staff Award
Day Parker
Program Assistant, The dije Office

Student Award
Marcela Ortiz Guerrero
Doctoral Candidate, Educational Studies


Faculty Award
Kate Robertson
Lecturer IV, Educator Preparation Program

Staff Award
Mariella Ortiz-Reyes
Educator Preparation Program Specialist

Student Award
Anna Almore
Doctoral Candidate, Joint Program in English & Education


Faculty Award
Rosemary (Rosie) Perez
Associate Professor of Education, Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education

Staff Award
Meri Tenney Muirhead
Managing Director, Elementary Teacher Education Programs

Student Award
Christine Quince
Doctoral Candidate, Educational Studies Program


Faculty Award
Mary Schleppegrell
Professor, Educational Studies

Staff Award
Alyssa Brandon
Communications Coordinator, TeachingWorks
Master's Student, Educational Leadership and Policy

Student Award
monét cooper
Doctoral Student, Joint Program in English & Education


Faculty Award
Camille Wilson
Professor, Educational Studies Program

Student Award
Christina Morton
Doctoral Candidate, Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education

Staff Award
Kathryn Taylor
Manager of Communications and Special Projects, TeachingWorks


Faculty Award
Carla O’Connor
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Education; Director, Wolverine Pathways

Student Award (awarded jointly)
Ebony Perouse-Harvey
Doctoral Student, Teaching and Teacher Education

Laura-Ann Jacobs
Doctoral Student, Educational Studies—Literacy, Language, and Culture

Staff Award
Melinda Richardson
Managing Director of the Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education


Faculty Award
Dr. Patricia King
Professor, Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education

Graduate Student Award
Aurora Kamimura
Doctoral Candidate in Higher Education—Organizational Behavior and Management

Staff Award
Felice Gonzales
Office and Program Manager of the Center for Education Design, Evaluation and Research (CEDER) 


Faculty Award
Dr. Debi Khasnabis
Clinical Assistant Professor of Education; Member of the Mitchell Scarlett Teaching and Learning Collaborative

Dr. Maisie Gholson
Assistant Professor of Educational Studies

Undergraduate Student Award
Lawrence Teng
Rising Senior

Graduate Student Award
Erika Mendez
Master’s Student in Educational Leadership and Policy

Naomi Wilson
Rising 3rd Year Doctoral Student in Educational Foundations and Policy

Staff Award
Dr. Simona Goldin
TeachingWorks Director of Instructional Design for Seminars and Special Projects; Instructor